Multiple Teams · Monsoons recognized in Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame

Every year the Ron Piazza McDonald’s recognizes Lakewood youth athletes who either attend school in Lakewood or live in Lakewood. In the 2016 edition of the Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame, several Monsoon athletes were recognized for their performances during 2016.

Emma Kailiponi (Volleyball) was selected as one of the four Outstanding Scholar-Athlete recipients for her high academic standing and varsity performance.

Patrick Coo (BMX), Mercedes Padilla (Soccer), and Brianna Figueroa (Tennis) were voted as Performer of the Year in their respective sports while Landon Anderson (Baseball), Mone’t Ward (Basketball), Sarah Parten (Softball), and Justin Pichedwatana (Wrestling) were voted as Co-Performers of the Year in their sports.

Kyle Small (Basketball), Kai Emmsley (Football), Joy Umeh (Track and Field), Sarah Clausen (Volleyball), Skyler Williams (Volleyball), and Andrew Ramos (Wrestling) were recognized as Distinguished Nominees as well.

Aaron Van Horn was selected as the Special Olympics Athlete for the Year for his performances on the Lakewood Special Olympics Team.

Montana Dixon of Lakewood High School was selected as the 2016 Athlete of the Year for her performance on the softball field.

Ali Morales of Long Beach Wilson was awarded Outstanding High School Career for dominating the Moore League in her four year varsity career.

Clay D’Amico of Valley Christian and Heder Gladden of Artesia were selected as All-Round Performers for their contributions in multiple sports.

The athletes will be recognized in February at the Annual Hall of Fame Banquet.